Planning & Development

Board of Architectural Review


The Board of Architectural Review was created to implement the provisions of the Official Zoning Ordinance Sec. 1204 for the City of Seneca consisting of five members and appointed by the City Council. All members have a demonstrated interest in historic preservation and architectural review. When available in the community at least one member is qualified as:

  • A historian, knowledge in local history
  • An architect or is an architect is not available to serve, someone knowledgeable in building design and construction
  • A real estate agent, lawyer, engineer, or representative of the historical society

Application & Meeting Schedule


Regular meetings of the Board of Architectural Review are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 PM in the Council Chambers of City Hall located at 221 E. North First Street. The deadline for applications is 12:00 PM on the dates listed below. Please note meetings are subject to change and may be cancelled if there is no official business to conduct. All meetings are open to the public.

Application Deadline (12PM EST) Meeting Date (6PM EST)
Tuesday, January 2, 2024 Monday, January 22, 2024
Monday, February 5, 2024 Monday, February 26, 2024
Monday, March 4, 2024 Monday, March 25, 2024
Monday, April 1, 2024 Monday, April 29, 2024
Monday, May 6, 2024 Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Monday, June 3, 2024 Monday, June 24, 2024
Monday, July 1, 2024 Monday, July 22, 2024
Monday, August 5, 2024 Monday, August 26, 2024
Tuesday, September 3, 2024 Monday, September 23, 2024
Monday, October 7, 2024 Monday, October 28, 2024
Monday, November 4, 2024 Monday, November 25, 2024
Monday, December 2, 2024 Monday, December 23, 2024

Board Members


Seat Member Term Expiration
1 Dave West (Chairperson) 2024
2 Tom Jones 2024
3 Glenn Abbott 2024
4 James Terry Keane 2024
5 Dee Barnes 2024

The City of Seneca is seeking interested citizens to fill vacancies on the Board of Architectural Review. Persons interested should submit a resume and cover letter to the office of Planning & Development at City Hall or mail to Mr. Edward R. Halbig, Director at PO Box 4773, Seneca, SC 29679. For additional information, call 864-885-2726.

Please Note: Early submission of applications is encouraged. If you wish to submit your application before the deadline, there will be more time for our staff to work with you to ensure that your proposed work meets the design review guidelines. Applications should be turned in at the Planning & Development office at City Hall. If you have questions about the application process or about meeting date, time, etc., please call the Planning & Development office at 864-885-2726.

Important Notice To Applicant(s): Please refrain from contacting any member of the Board of Architectural Review in matters related to your application. Any communication outside the public hearing, including but not limited to face-to-face conversations, phone calls, written correspondence, e-mails, instant messaging, and the next level of technology that presents itself with any member of the Board of Architectural Review is considered an “ex parte communication.”
An “ex parte communication” occurs when an interested party in the matter to be decided (or representative) and a quasi-judicial decision-maker discuss, outside the formal hearing process, the substance of the matter to be decided. If this were to occur the decision-maker is disqualified (must be recused) from voting on the matter. Outside communications also create an appearance of impropriety and serves to undercut public confidence in the integrity of the process.

Meeting Documents


Board of Architectural Review

2023 2022 Archive

Office

location Location:
221 E North 1st St.
Seneca, SC 29678
hours Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 5:00PM

Staff

Director:
TBD
Zoning Administrator:
Tracy Chapman
Code Enforcement:
Angie Moss
Transit Assistant:
Barbara Dyar
Building Official/Fire Marshal:
Ronald Butts
Administrative Assistant:
Heather Strother

Contact

phone Phone:
864-885-2726
mailing-address Mailing:
P.O. Box 4773
Seneca, SC 29679

Contact Info

221 E North 1st St. Seneca, SC 29678
864-885-2700

Subscribe To Our Newsletter