City of Seneca, South CarolinaSunday, April 30, 2017

Contacts

STAFF

Director
Ed Halbig
Email

Building Official
BJ Klaren
Email

Chief Building Inspector
Ronald Butts
Email

Administrative Assistant
Tracy Smith
Email

Code Enforcement Officer
Tina Kirby
Email

Transit Assistant
Tammy Lawing
Email

OFFICE INFO

Hours:
Mon-Fri 8:00am - 5:00pm

Telephone:
(864) 885-2726

Fax:
(864) 888-0879

Mailing Address:
250 East North Second Street
PO Box 4773
Seneca, SC 29679

Board of Architectural Review Members

The Board of Architechtural Review was created to implement the provisions of the Official Zoning Ordinance Sec. 1204 for the City of Seneca consisting of five members and appointed by the City Council. All members have a demonstrated interest in historic preservation and architectural review. When available in the community at least one member is qualified as:

  • A historian, knowledge in local history.
  • An architect or is an architect is not available to serve, someone knowledgeable in building design and construction.
  • A real estate agent, laywer, engineer, or representative of the historical society.

 



 

Seat

Member

Term Expiration

1

Carol Johnson

1/2016

2

Courtney Grunninger Bonney

1/2015

3

Dave West

1/2016

4

Kelly Staggs, Chairperson

1/2016



 

The City of Seneca is seeking interested citizens to fill vacancies on the Board of Architectural Review. Persons interested should submit a resume and cover letter to the office of Planning & Development at City Hall or mail to Mr. Edward R. Halbig, Director at PO Box 4773, Seneca, SC 29679. For additional information, call 885-2726. 


 

2015 Application Deadline and Meeting Schedule

Application Deadline

Meeting Date

Friday, Decemeber 30, 2016 6:00 PM, Monday, January 23, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, February 27, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, March 27, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, April 24, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, May 22, 2017
Monday, June 5, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, June 26, 2017
Monday, July 3, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, July 24, 2017
Monday, August 7, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, August 28, 2017
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, September 25, 2017
Monday, October 2, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, October 23, 2017
Monday, November 6, 2017 6:00 PM, Monday, November 27, 2017
Monday, Decemeber 4, 2017 6:00 PM, Thursday, December 28, 2017

 

Regular meetings of the Board of Architectural Review are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., unless changed by majority vote of members at any regular or special meeting.  All meetings are open to the public.

PLEASE NOTE: EARLY SUBMISSION OF APPLICATIONS IS ENCOURAGED. If you wish to submit your application before the deadline, there will be more time for our staff to work with you to ensure that your proposed work meets the design review guidelines. Applications should be turned in at the Planning and Development office, 250 East North 2nd Street. If you have questions about the application process or about meeting date, time, etc., please call the Planning and Development office at 864-885-2726.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO APPLICANT(S): Please refrain from contacting any member of the Board of Architectural Review in matters related to your application. Any communication outside the public hearing, including but not limited to face-to-face conversations, phone calls, written correspondence, e-mails, instant messaging, and the next level of technology that presents itself with any member of the Board of Architectural Review is considered an “ex parte communication.”

An “ex parte communication” occurs when an interested party in the matter to be decided (or representative) and a quasi-judicial decision-maker discuss, outside the formal hearing process, the substance of the matter to be decided. If this were to occur the decision-maker is disqualified (must be recused) from voting on the matter. Outside communications also create an appearance of impropriety and serves to undercut public confidence in the integrity of the process.